exit

Community Domestic Violence Awareness Month Events

For a full list of Compass Center’s Domestic Violence Awareness Month events, click here.

DVAM is a time to acknowledge the impact of domestic violence on families in our community and stand in support of victims of abuse. With your support, we can start a dialogue and raise public awareness on domestic violence, an issue affecting thousands of families and couples in Orange County. Below, you will find a calendar of Domestic Violence Awareness Month/ Relationship Violence Awareness Month events in the community.

Domestic Violence Action Project’s Race to End Domestic Violence
Saturday, October 5
5 p.m. – UNC’s Finley Fields, Chapel Hill
Hosted by Domestic Violence Action Project

Raising Flags, Raising Awareness
Tuesday, October 1
5:30 p.m. – Pennies for Change
Hosted by Durham Crisis Response Center

Vintage Flea Sale
Sunday, October 6
1 p.m. – Pennies for Change
Hosted by Durham Crisis Response Center

(How) Can We Talk About Rape?
Monday, October 7
4 p.m. – Hyde Hall
Hosted by  by RAPE: Perceptions, Realities, Responses, the Program in Sexuality Studies and the Institute for the Arts and Humanities at UNC-Chapel Hill.

Campus Y Film Series: The Bro Code
Tuesday, October 8
7 p.m. – Bingham 103
Hosted by Project Dinah and SWAG

Panel on Men in Violence Prevention
Wednesday, October 9
5 p.m. – Campus Y Anne Queen Lounge
Hosted by Student Wellness, SWAG and One Act

Creating, Sustaining, and Supporting Healthy Relationships
Thursday, October 10
5 p.m. – Student Union
Hosted by One Act

Ben & Jerry’s Benefit Night for the OCRCC
Sunday, October 13
1-9 p.m. – Ben & Jerry’s on Franklin St.
Hosted by OCRCC and Project Dinah

Campus Y Film Series: Flirting with Danger
Monday, October 14
7 p.m. – Murphy 116
Hosted by SWAG and Project Dinah

CBW and EmBrACE Film Screening: Enough
Tuesday, October 15
6:30 p.m. – Dey 305
Hosted by Black Student Movement

Campus Y Film Series: The Invisible War
Tuesday, October 22
7 p.m. – Varsity Theatre on Franklin St
Hosted by SWAG and Project Dinah

Carolina Men Care (UNC Hospitals Beacon Program)
Tuesday, October 22
10 a.m. – 1 p.m. – UNC Children’s Hospital Lobby
Hosted by UNC Hospital’s Beacon Child and Family Program

The Audacity to Heal
Wednesday, October 23
7:30 p.m. – Stone Center Auditorium
Hosted by UNC-Chapel Hill Dept. of Women’s and Gender Studies

Arts, Activism and Advocacy
Thursday, October 24
10 a.m. – Stone Center Hitchcock Room
Hosted by UNC-Chapel Hill Dept. of Women’s and Gender Studies

Secondary Survivors Workshop
Monday, October 28
6 p.m. – Student Union Rm. 3102
Hosted by Student Wellness

Campus Y Film Series: Miss Representation
Tuesday, October 29
7 p.m. – Union Auditorium
Hosted by One Act and Project Dinah

Join Our Email List